A couple of happy lesbian news articles

What a delight to have two fantastic lesbian stories in the news today. One of them is Miriam Ben-Shalom taking down a couple of thugs who were trying to steal a car. The other is two women celebrating their 50th anniversary.

From WISN News:

“There’s been a major break in the investigation into the rolling crime crew known as the CT Mob after they took on the wrong woman. Two senior citizens pulled up to the valet stand at the Hotel Metro to have dinner in October, when the crime crew rolled up. One woman fought back and both helped police identify two of the crew. Miriam Ben-Shalom may qualify for Medicare, but she can still put up a fight.

“They probably thought two little old ladies, one who walks with a walker, (are) easy marks. Guess again,” Ben-Shalom said. She walked to the hatchback of the car to get her partner’s walker when she saw the valet fighting off a teenager.

“They’re fighting and he’s trying to carjack us, so I tackled the jerk,” Ben-Shalom said. 

The teen didn’t know he was messing with a former Army sergeant, who made history fighting the military’s ban on gay service members. Ben-Shalom said another teen ran up and ordered her to let his friend go.

“I went around and placed the toe of my boot in a very socially significant place and told him if he moved or he struggled, he would walk funny for the rest of his life,” she said.

Then a Jeep rolled up and a guy with a gun started yelling at her.

“(He said) ‘I’m going to shoot you. You don’t let him go, and I’m going shoot them too,’ with the gangster gun, sideways,'” Ben-Shalom said.

Prosecutors have now charged 17-year-olds Junior Moreno and Jesus Lazaro and 18-year-old Giovanni Zurfluh in the Hotel Metro incident and dozens of other crimes. Prosecutors said they’re members of the CT, or Cut-Throat, Mob, which gives new meaning to wrecking crew.”

Moral of the story: never mess with an army dyke! If you aren’t familiar with Miriam Ben-Shalom, you should be! She is lesbian hero and you should read Gallus Mag’s article about her here and see her talk here where she stands up to trans activists who are shouting at her.

And now for the 50th anniversary.

From CBC News:

“Jean Baker and Sharon Colter’s romance started 50 years ago in a Toronto parking lot, and it’s still going strong in a small house in Winnipeg’s Minto neighbourhood. In 1966, Baker was 26 years old, a single mom to two toddlers, and it was her first time visiting a gay bar.

“I sat at the bar for over an hour and a half. Nobody said hi to me. I felt really annihilated,” said Baker, now 76 years old. “I backed my car out of the parking lot and was heading out of the street, and I saw this lady, who was walking like John Wayne — she has this big stride on her — and I thought, ‘Well, I’ll ask her where girls meet.'”

But Baker got cold feet and ended up circling the lot three times to try to come up with something to say.

“I never did any pick-up lines in my life. I was always on the receiving end of pick-up lines,” said Baker. “I rolled down the window … I said, ‘Wanna go for a ride and raise a little hell?’ I don’t know where that came from. It was just right off the top of my head.'”

With a little coaxing, Colter agreed, and 50 years later the pair are great-grandmothers living in Winnipeg.

“It’s been an adventure, and it’s still an adventure,” said Colter.

Baker and Colter eventually moved to Winnipeg, and spent decades running a catering business together. The couple have spent the last 50 years together, virtually 24-7. They’ve seen their grandkids and great-grandchildren grow up, battled cancer and danced through nearly every decade. The pair celebrated their 50th anniversary with dinner in Winnipeg’s Osborne Village, a shopping trip and a movie at home.”

Way to go, lesbians!

14 thoughts on “A couple of happy lesbian news articles

  1. Back in the early 80’s I used to go to a mixed bar in Seattle called The Double Header (at the time one of the longest continuing run gay bars on the West Coast). They had a band run by 2 Lesbians who both played the accordion. Played dance music (waltzes,polkas,other ballroom styles.) Learned how to dance pretty well. Gay men and Lesbians danced and socialized together there. One of the best parts was they would announce anniversaries every week and play the Anniversary Waltz. Lots of Lesbian couples would show up just for that. 30,35,40,45,50 years would be how long so many of them had been together. Beautiful watching the couples dance the first verse solo on the floor. Great way of keeping our intergenerational history ALIVE. Best times of my life.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Yes. I came out in 1974. I was in my late 20’s to early 30’s when I went there. Also learned a lot about Gay history in Seattle from older gay men and several Lesbians. I got to know the band pretty well. They were really good (they even let me sing a song with them one evening.)
        The lover of one of the accordionists was the bar’s bouncer when the band played. She would keep drunks from wandering onstage because of the valuable equipment they used. She also had to patrol the women’s restroom keeping out the drag queens. They thought they deserved to use the Ladies Room and would tie up the sink primping and gossiping like they were “real” women. I think of that often when I read about the twanz forcing their way into women’s spaces.

        Liked by 4 people

        • I’ve been in a gay bar where drag queens were using the ladies room. At the time, I was in my early 20s, and just found it amusing, because women’s spaces hadn’t been taken over like they have been now. I have to note that the drag queens were usually the only ones putting on makeup. The putting on of makeup in the ladies room was like a performance for them. The women never needed that much time in front of a mirror.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

