I’m going to fucking lose it

Another day, another lesbian who transitions to male because she doesn’t feel comfortable wearing a dress.

From the Hartford Courant:

Transgender Teacher Steps Out To Students

“AVON — Last month, Dusty Rader had a conversation with his Avon High School students that never would have happened a few years ago.

He told them that he is transgender.

His disclosure came up in the context of a school-wide discussion on tolerance and bullying and talk about a North Carolina law that bans people from using bathrooms that do not correspond with the sex on their birth certificate.”

The article continues with blah, blah, blah, great teacher, blah, blah, blah, transgender suicide rates, and then the sex stereotypes start rolling in.

“…he had always known he felt like a boy and wanted to be a boy. As a child, he spurned skirts, dressed as a boy and played on a boys Little League team…”

“I would have fairly violent reactions to being told I had to wear a dress. I would start screaming. I was like, no this doesn’t fit”…

“He played baseball with the boys until sixth grade, when he was told he would have to play softball with the girls. In high school, he played on the softball and field hockey teams.”

“Through high school, he wore jeans and T-shirts — boy clothes — and pulled his hair back tightly in a pony tail.”

Are you fucking kidding me?? Did you actually just say that jeans and T-shirts are boy clothes? Where have you been for the last four decades when most women have been wearing jeans and T-shirts as casual wear all the time??

“In ninth grade, he concluded that he was gay and began to date a girl. He thought of himself as a lesbian, but he still didn’t feel like a woman. He felt male, not simply masculine, as he put it.”

It never fails. Most of these FtM transitioners are lesbians. They grow up having no idea that it’s completely normal and typical for lesbians to identify with the sex stereotypes assigned to boys. (BTW, plenty of straight women like things such as jeans and sports, too! DUH!) It is quite impossible for a female to “feel male.” Male is not a feeling, it’s a biological category describing a mammal who produces sperm which can fertilize ova. A female has no idea what it feels like to be in a male body, and never will know.

“He got parts playing traditionally male roles in the school plays and insisted — despite his mother’s opposition — on wearing a tuxedo to the prom.”

Lesbians often do wear tuxedos to the prom. Unfortunately, some homophobic dickheads have a problem with this, but it’s not actually unusual or weird. Playing a male role in a play, really? Last time I was in a play I was cast as a male soldier. (And a straight girl flirted with me while I was in costume which was mega-awesome!) However, I’m still a woman. It turns out that putting on a costume and pretending to be a character doesn’t change your sex.

“But in the spring of his junior year, while at a conference sponsored by True Colors, an organization that works with LBGTQ youths, he heard someone speak about being transgender — a term used to describe people with a gender identity that is different from the sex assigned to them at birth.

“It was really a massive revelation,” Rader said. “Oh my God, there is a word for what I’ve been feeling. It felt so good to see that I wasn’t the only person feeling this way and that there was something I could even do about it.”

LBGTQ groups aren’t about helping lesbians and gays anymore, they’re about recruiting young people to the trans cult. If LGBTQWTF groups were actually about helping lesbians and gays, they would have talked about gender nonconformity among lesbians, and how we create awesome and wonderful ways of being women that are different from what we’ve been taught. They certainly wouldn’t have introduced the ancient homophobic idea that lesbians are men trapped in women’s bodies. Decades ago, lesbians and gays named the concept of “sexual inversion” as homophobic, but now it’s back, and repackaged as progressive. But it’s NOT progressive to say that lesbians are really men—that’s actually ancient, dusty, mouldy, old homophobia that came from 19th century sexist morons who didn’t know what the fuck they were talking about.

This person seems to be having a decent time at her job—she hasn’t been fired for coming out as trans and is getting lots of support. It’s funny, I don’t think she’d get this much support if she was a butch lesbian teacher. I bet she’d get zero support. People always think you’re a safe person for kids to be around when you’re adhering to traditional gender stereotypes, because this teaches kids to also adhere to traditional gender stereotypes, which are part of the system that upholds patriarchy. But if you’re a person who breaks the gender roles, then you’ll be considered a literal child molester even if you’re a good and moral person who would never hurt a child.

I hope this person continues to live in safety and to have a wonderful career as a teacher. But she’s not a man—she’s a lesbian who transitioned to fit into the opposite gender box, and once again I’m mourning the loss of one of my lesbian sisters.

18 thoughts on “I’m going to fucking lose it

  1. It’s spooky and Orwellian. I had a pony tail. My mother insisted on dressing me in shorts (no idea why? Practical?) I was embarrassed when people thought I was a boy. Because, I was a girl. And wanted to be recognised as such.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I so wish this whole thing would turn the light on in some people’s heads about how very difficult it is to be a gender non-conforming gay person in certain parts of our society these days. Like you said, how much support would she have gotten if she came out as a butch lesbian?

    When I got over my trans thing my first explanation for it all was “It’s really, really hard to be gay.” It’s still my usual explanation. Hell, in Iran it’s lethal to be gay, but hey, you can be trans! How much different is it here, really?

    I have to sympathize with her because I know for myself how tempting the path of transition looks. After a lifetime of homophobia and misogyny all of a sudden people are celebrating who you are – and all you’ve got to do is give up your womanhood. That’s the real clincher. There has to be a desperation there in a lesbian to do that. It’s not as simple as “I wore boy clothes so I feel like a boy.” It’s “I wore boy clothes and everyone hated me so I feel I have to escape this hatred any way I can, and people will love me more if I’m male.”

    People experience different levels of hatred for their lack of gender conformance and different levels of support through it, depending on where they are and who they’re with. It just shows how direly sick and loveless our society is, however, when conformity is valued so much more than an individual’s unique spirit and personality.

    Liked by 7 people

  3. I have often joked that what really set me up to be a lesbian was being a highly sensitive person forced to wear a training bra as a teen, after fancy pants as a child and garter belts and sanitary belts when older. I was so relieved when my mother conceded that jeans were an actual fashion tread and allowed me to wear them. I did not become butch, instead I embraced what my family coined, ‘washer women chic’. Thank you hippies!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Thank you so much, again, for your insightful journalism. This destruction of lesbians is as obvious as a kindergarten-level Connect-the-Dots puzzle, but no one in the mainstream media bothers to point it out. I’m not so cynical as to think **all** reporters actually despise lesbians and are happy to see them turn into trans men. But the willful see-no-hear-no-evil of so many is truly mind blowing. Investigative journalism is not dead on PurpleSageFem…

    Liked by 6 people

  5. Any woman who can’t be arsed with make up and impractical clothes, who has more important things in her life than being feminine is now not a real woman.

    That is deeply insulting to a lot of straight women. It’s also insulting to men who love them.

    Liked by 8 people

  6. This is so sad. And how many baby dykes she has as students are going to start thinking that they too are not women but “men” and start taking testosterone and wanting elective mastectomies? Goddamn

    Liked by 3 people

      • When I was in high school I would get asked if I was a boy or a girl and got shoved onto the boys bathroom, but kids were just doing it to harass the gay and lesbian kids and to be dicks ( some kids were doing it to hide as they were gay and lesbian too) but now kids doing the same thing, being homophobic, conformist goose stepping little dicks but they have the teachers, doctors, all these Soros funded organization’s on their side telling them that they are progressive and good allies. Dear god what a mind fuck.

        Liked by 3 people

  7. This is so tragic, ridiculous, goofy, and infuriating, for so many reasons, on so many levels. It’s hard to pick just which aspect is most concerning! After an exploding number of stories like this over the last few years, WHY do so many people continue insisting this isn’t a trend?

    Liked by 2 people

    • If gay men were transitioning at the same rate lesbians have, there would celebrities speaking out about, ribbon campaigns, Dan Savage would be making money off the outrage and mainstream feminists would care.

      Liked by 5 people

  8. What an upsetting story. Neoliberalism is so pervasive and poisonous that it has entered our hearts and minds. “I shouldn’t organize for lesbian rights [group identity], I should just pretend I am a biological male.” As a gender-nonconforming straight woman, I find this simply tragic.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. I have gone to the TC conference referenced in the article. It’s scary. At the end of the last one, they had a “speak-out” for the kids, to express their feelings or reactions based on the day’s events. Kid after kid after KID after kid came up to the mike, and “came out as trans-gender.” It was crazy. It was like the whole day was geared towards that particular outcome for the kids or something. That was actually one of the things that started me on thinking more critically about this whole business, actually – I just couldn’t believe that out of 3000 kids or whatever, that 600 of them were actually trans? That just made no sense at all, but it really demonstrates the level of social pressure and conditioning that’s happening these days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

