Lesbians with beards

I was at an event recently and ran into an old friend who I haven’t seen in a while. I knew her when she was active in the lesbian community but then she moved on to the trans community and started using a male name. We lost touch before I became a radical feminist, and I was quite pro-trans at the time. Therefore, it wasn’t my politics that drove us apart, and in truth, I don’t know what it was. Maybe she just didn’t believe she belonged in the lesbian community anymore? When I saw her recently, she had a beard, and I wasn’t surprised. I spoke to her briefly, using her male name, and told her I was glad to see her, which is true. She is a fantastic person and I rather regret that we have lost contact.

There is all this mythology out there that trans people are “unsafe” around TERFs. Well, I believe in the existence of human sexual dimorphism but I don’t do anything to make trans people unsafe. I talk to them the same way I talk to anyone else.

It’s true that I make fun of the transgenderist cult. I mock the people who make really silly claims like that men are lesbians and that the penis is female, and the people who have to change their “gender” every time they put on an outfit. If you’re being silly, I reserve the right to laugh. I fully understand that the average FtM would want to stay the hell away from me due to “transphobia.” This makes me sad, since many of these people are lesbians. But my political position is based on the facts of reality and is a pro-woman position, so I think I have the right to it. And I do not believe that having a pro-woman position makes lesbians with beards “unsafe.”

Recently a reader reached out to me and said that she is somewhere between butch and FtM and has been enjoying my blog. I was really happy to hear this, and I was really happy that she explained to me a bit about what being butch means to her. I am a big fan of masculine women, and happen to be partnered with one, so I’m very happy that at least a small minority of them feel comfortable here.

The reader who reached out to me expressed that she doesn’t think she belongs in lesbian space because she is FtM. I am the sort of TERF* who believes that lesbians with beards are still lesbians, and I personally think that they should be welcome among lesbians. They’re certainly welcome here on this blog. I know that some other women in the radfem/gender crit group think that transitioning automatically makes someone misogynist. I don’t take that position. I think it’s entirely possible for a woman to feel comfortable wearing a beard and still be pro-woman. More often than not, transitioners are against radical feminism, but not always.

Like it or not, taking testosterone is a part of the lesbian experience these days. This is part of the discussion of lesbian life in the 2010s, and I strive to have nuanced and fair discussions here about all lesbian issues.

*I fully understand that TERF is a misogynist slur. I’m using it here rather ironically.

14 thoughts on “Lesbians with beards

  1. There ARE Lesbians with beards, naturally hirsute women NOT on testosterone who in strong Lesbian environments felt safe enough to allow them to grow or display them.

    I knew one who was QUITE a Radical Dyke and fairly Separatist. I was at a Thanksgiving celebration at Mama Bears bookstore where Lesbians could freely come and celebrate with Sisters ar Mama Bears….the trans craze was starting to take hold and some of the women already had that pre FTM uptight look to their dress and bodies, breast binding and rigid male like movements to try to “pass” as more male. Natural Butches dont do that even though some have a bit of macho..because Butches are just being THEMSELVES, whereas the others are putting on a show of their pre-maleness, not wanting to show a chink in their armour..ON ANY CASE we had all sorts of Lesbian women celebrating at Mama Bears and the woman I knew and was friendly with who had a full beard. She had no pretense, no breast binding, wore bright colorful clothes( which most FTMS wouldnt be caught dead in), ect so I couldnt quite read her.

    Finally I got up the gumption to ask: are you a Dyke with a beard ir an FTM? I asked it very respectfully and she responded she WAS a Dyke with a beard and most DEFINITELY NOT an FTM nor has she EVER taken testosterone.

    While FTMs have made a choice to identify with and AS males and go out of their way to appear male, THEY ARE NO LONGER LESBIANS/Dykes, nor do they represent us any longer no matter how long they were in the community, if at all(for the young ones transitioning).

    Lesbians ARE Female, love and lust after Females, some are Butch, some are Femme, some naturally have beards. Some do not…Taking testosterone is the furthest thing away from BEING a Lesbian/Dyke one could become..since we HONOR, LUST, PARTNER AND DESIRE both ourselves and other bio WOMEN.

    FTMS made their choice beard or not.
    Should they choose to detransition, honor their female bodies again and other Lesbian womyn, then they can become part of our ranks again…
    -FeistyAmazon,
    . -Lifelong Butch DykeAmazon

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Someone clever once said that men are afraid that women might laugh at them, while women fear that men might kill them. (And my stupid brain forgot who said it and how exactly. Sorry)

    Males cannot conceive of something worse than being mocked ever happening to them. Thus the myth that “TERFs” are “dangerous” to trans. No doubt invented by MtTs.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I’ve had a beard since I was 19. I have to shave every day to keep it down to a dull roar. Never took T.

    I’ve seen photo essays of women with facial hair who just let it go. They can be, imho, super attractive. I like the gender-bender aspect.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. I just don’t agree that women who take testosterone need to be ostracized. My lesbian sisters are still my sisters even if they make cosmetic changes to their bodies. If their politics are anti-woman then I won’t get along with them, but as I’ve said many times before, I don’t believe in kicking women out of the group for having the wrong personal characteristics.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As I said, tgey are no longer Lesbians once they start on T. Their thinking and the powerful MALE hormones coursing through their bodies and the comuunity of Genderqueer and FTM bros changes them. They have made a CONSCIOUS CHOICE to transition and IDENTIFY WITH Males.

      As a Butch Dyke it hurt me to my heart on a soul deep level once I heard of or met YET ANOTHER Butch I knew making the switch, going on T transitioning and identifying as MALE. In the Bay Area it happened at a greater and greater frquency vacating so.many Butches from the Lesbian/Dyke communities. Their appearance changed, their attitudes changed, they were no longer one of us. It became so bad that every time my partner and I went to San Francisco as a Butch couple others including gay men began referring to us with male pronouns. Lesbians transitioning to male makes the rest of us Butches far more vulnerable and subject to hostility and discrimination or assumptions that we are just waiting our turn to go on T and transition.

      Taking that shot is injecting into one’s body literally the Patriarchy, the utter essence of maleness, testosterone. But the thinking changes long before then, as the “trendy” thing to do. They experience hypersexual energy and anger and rage much more easily with a deadening of other emotions. I was in the frontlines of this, and a good number these days are identifying as “gay male” as well. They are no longer Lesbians.

      Being Lesbian is ALL ABOUT HONORING THE FEMALE, WITHIN AND WITHOUT. Not just sexually, but emotionally and spiritually as well…
      -FeistyAmazon

      Liked by 4 people

      • I can see how that would be terribly painful, that you would feel both a sense of grief and betrayal.

        I’ve long found butch lesbians to be appealing people. I am so sorry that so many are choosing this path.

        Liked by 3 people

      • The sad thing is that FtT are way better at achieving male-type levels of violence than MtT the other way round. So, transness leads to an overall increase in violence.
        It all depends on the individual, but I would not trust a woman who transitions because she believes in the gender nonsense. Her own self-image as male is likely to make her dangerous. Because aggressiveness is a part of the male gender role.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. As a lesbian who used to wear her naturally occurring facial hair, but now shaves it, though the dark stubble is still visible, I would hate for anyone to assume I’d ever taken testosterone or had ever identified as “trans.” No way would I ever have done either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

