This sounds fairly typical of lesbians

Thanks to Transgender Reality for writing this post about women asking the asktransgender reddit if they are trans because they like wearing boy’s clothes.

This woman asked:

 

“So I’m 19 right now and identify as female. Ever since I was younger I’ve always leaned towards the masculine side. I’ve always worn boys clothes, for as long as I can remember. When I was maybe 10/11, I would wear boxers and I felt very comfortable in them. When I reached 7th or 8th grade, I tried to start wearing female clothes. I never felt comfortable in girls underwear or shirts (I do usually wear girls jeans). When I was in 5th grade (elementary school) or maybe a little younger, I tried pushing for my parents to start calling me Joey after one of my favorite tv characters.

Fast forward a few years and I’ve recently come out as gay. I always wear boys clothes. I got a haircut and feel ten times more comfortable with it. She/her pronouns sort of make me uncomfortable, but I get embarrassed when people say he/him infront of my friends. I really lean towards the name Nick. I’ve always been big into video games and I’ll always make a male character, etc.

Recently I’ve been introduced to the Trans community and I’ve been watching a lot of videos on transitions so now I’m sort of confused with everything.

Any feedback would be highly appreciated. Thanks!”

In fact, I do have some feedback, and it’s different from what the transgenderists said. She was told “this is fairly typical of trans people” and diagnosed as trans by the commenters there. In fact, one of them even called her “textbook trans.”

My feedback is that this sounds fairly typical of lesbians.

First of all, she actually states that she identifies as female and is gay. Absolutely no one in trans land told her that she is a typical lesbian, of course, because in trans land, everyone in the world is trans except for the Evil Cis Overlords.

I’ve explained this all before, but I will explain it again. I, too, have short hair, and it was a significant experience when I cut it short for the first time. I, too, like wearing boxer shorts and I wear men’s shirts when I can find ones that fit. This is really normal for lesbians. Lots of us like wearing men’s clothes! Men’s clothes are comfortable, practical and dignified, so it’s no surprise people, including women, like wearing them. I don’t feel comfortable in lots of the clothes aimed at women. I rarely wear a dress. When I’m in a clothing store I walk right past the dresses as if they’re not even there, and what I really like looking at are the men’s clothes—they are much more appealing! I also have a female partner who wears mostly men’s clothes. Both of us are women, and typical lesbians.

If you are a woman who is attracted to women and presents as masculine, you don’t need medical intervention and you don’t need testosterone or new pronouns. You are already perfect the way you are and you don’t need to pretend to be male. You are a normal lesbian, and being a lesbian is fantastic.

12 thoughts on “This sounds fairly typical of lesbians

  1. I have seen transgender advocates write about women who consider themselves butch lesbians and insist they are actually transmen. If this isn’t homophobia, I don’t know what is.

    Leaving aside the debate about whether butch/femme are also gendered terms, or more than that and something essentially lesbian, what does it say about trans activists that they insist so firmly on getting to assert their own identities but have the temerity to try to override lesbian women’s opinions about their own?

    I wonder whether anyone has ever asked that of trans activists: “what do you consider to be the difference between a butch lesbian and a transman?” They never seem to address this question in these transgender subreddits. No wonder lesbians are angry at trans activists: this is erasure indeed. But just try to point this out and you get called a bigot and your comment deleted. So social justice, much fairness. Pfft.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Reblogged this on RaFeCaMe and commented:
    “If you are a woman who is attracted to women and presents as masculine, you don’t need medical intervention and you don’t need testosterone or new pronouns. You are already perfect the way you are and you don’t need to pretend to be male. You are a normal lesbian, and being a lesbian is fantastic.”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ve been all over the place with my style over the years. I’ve tried conventional beauty but it’s just not for me. I love LOVE LOVE a pixie cut and comfy stretchy pants. I also really tailored-looking shirts, high collars, lace and applique. There are a LOT of different ways to express yourself through your personal style and it does NOT have to be relegated to typical male/female norms. YAWN! BORING! I encourage EVERYONE to wear what feels good–not just comfort-wise but expression-wise as well. Your personal style can help you express how you feel on the INSIDE. I especially admire the style of people like Annie Lennox, Diane Keaton, and Grace Jones. DEFINITELY unique and NONE of them needed surgery to get there 😉 In fact, here are some pictures–enjoy!



    P.S. If a lady absolutely NEEDS to know what it feels like to pee standing up, this can be accommodated as well!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You can actually make one of those by cutting out the top of a bleach bottle, cutting out the inside of the cap, and hot gluing a bit of vinyl tubing to it. But it’s good to see that commercial versions are available.

      Liked by 1 person

        • You can also rig it up with a valve in the tubing, and then glue the other end to another bleach bottle cap, to then be attached to an intact bleach bottle for storage, so you’re good to go when traveling by vehicle. Also you can then dilute the urine about ten to one with water and use it as fertilizer, or compost enhancement. Used straight, urine will cook your compost right up, though you probably shouldn’t overdo it. Depends on your salt intake. You don’t want to add a lot of salt to your compost. But animal wastes are so helpful for horticulture. I figure, you make it, why give it away?

          Containers etc. easily sterilized with a wee bit of bleach. Bleach is a simple chemical, breaks down easily. Don’t put it on the compost, though.

          Liked by 3 people

  4. I don’t see why people have to label everything o.o I mean personally I’m one of those girls who is a lesbian and I wear both genders of clothes depends on what I’m in the mood for. I wear guy shirts and pants but also girls shirts and pants. I have long hair atm I had it short before I change back and forth. My dad made a comment a bit ago and it was so offensive now I know he was just curious but he asked and I quote. “Why are you trying to look like your twin brother? Do you want to be a guy?” He said it in an innocent way but all I said was “rethink your question and try putting yourself in my place of just trying to wear what I’m comfortable in” he really thought on it and the next day came back to me and said. “I’m sorry for my ignorance I didn’t mean it the way it sounded I’m not meaning you actually want to be a guy I’m just trying to figure it out.” See that right there is bingo, what I mean, why most everything have to be figured out and labeled? I’m comfortable in both I don’t need anyone trying to tell me who I am I’m me and that’s all.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I, too, find that I prefer men’s clothing, especially on other women. I was never that bowled over by the idea of dresses and skirts, and, when I was a young adolescent, I was always in cords, but somehow knew this was frowned upon, so felt guilty about that. These days, I dress in whatever clothing I feel appropriate for that day or occasion, but am aware I am ‘gender policed’ and that people expect women to look a certain way and, if they transgress this code, or in their behaviour, then all wrath can be sent in their direction… A social license.. It’s sheer lunacy, of course. Why should anyone become ‘offended’ by what piece of cloth someone else has chosen to wear…?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

